New York’s 14-day travel quarantine expands to 19 states with climbing COVID cases

Posted On Tue, July 7, 2020 By

Posted On Tue, July 7, 2020 By In Policy

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

One day after New York City entered an abbreviated version of phase three reopening, the state has expanded its travel advisory to 19 states with climbing COVID crises. When Governor Cuomo, Governor Phil Murphy of New Jersey, and Governor Ned Lamont of Connecticut announced a Tri-State travel advisory on June 24th, there were only nine states on the list. The advisory calls for a self-imposed 14-day quarantine, though anyone found not complying could be subject to thousands of dollars in fines and a judicial order for a mandatory quarantine.

States that fall into the travel advisory are those with 10 infections per 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average or that have 10 percent of the state’s total population testing positive on a seven-day rolling average. The numbers will be updated daily. Hotels will be asked to communicate the travel advisory to those who have come from the designated states.

The states currently on the list are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

In a statement today, Governor Cuomo said, “As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening. Our entire response to this pandemic has been by the numbers, and we’ve set metrics for community spread just as we set metrics for everything. Three more states have now reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York’s travel advisory. We will now require individuals coming from Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma to quarantine for 14 days. New Yorkers did the impossible – we went from the worst infection rate in the United States to one of the best – and the last thing we need is to see another spike of COVID-19.”

In a study released from Covid ActNow, only two states in the country are on track to contain COVID–Connecticut and Vermont. Last week, New York, New Jersey, and Massachusettes were on this list; they are now in the next group, “controlled disease growth.” According to CDC data, New York saw the most COVID-related deaths in the nation, roughly 32,000 with 23,200 of those in New York City. New Jersey has the second-most deaths, just over 15,000. Connecticut has the eighth-most, 4,335.

In New York, the number of hospitalizations has continued to be the lowest since the crisis began. After completing 56,736 tests yesterday, only 1.04 percent were positive; in New York City, that percentage is 1.10.

Editor’s Note: This story was originally published on June 24, 2020, and has been updated with new information. 


Tags : , , ,



Thank you, your sign-up request was successful!
This email address is already subscribed, thank you!
Please provide a valid email address.
Please complete the CAPTCHA.
Oops. Something went wrong. Please try again later.